Elizziebooks

I freaking love books! I'm currently reading a bunch of YA novels and I keep telling myself that I'll branch out into Adult lit.

A Really Awesome Mess Review

A Really Awesome Mess - 'Trish Cook',  'Brendan Halpin'

As soon as I saw this on NetGalley, I knew I needed to read this book.  Although it's from the perspective of two people going into a school for teenagers with depression and whatnot, there are many laugh-out-loud moments throughout the novel along the moments that were straight-to-the-matter. These two authors did not hold back. These kids get angry, they get frustrated, they start a fight on their first day in Anger Management.  They also devise some pretty awesome schemes, one involving saving a bunch of pigs.  It's life at it's truest, and a novel that will touch your heart no matter what you're going through in life.

 

The characters were so fun and some of the greatest characters I've met.  They make up crude games and make jokes at each other's expense.  They're also very distinguishably different from one another. Everyone is a varying state of mental illness, but then they all have different histories and whatnot that unfold quite beautifully throughout the novel.

 

Oh, and there's cussing and talk about porn and sex. So if you don't care for that, maybe this isn't for you. BUT YOU'RE MISSING OUT. Har har harrrr... Anyway, I live in a place where it's awkward to talk about certain things, but this novel just comes right out and says it. Loved that.

 

Okay, but really. I don't know if anyone needs a trigger warning for this book, but one main character has anorexia and basically 90% of the characters in this book have a mental illness.

 

For Fans of

David Levithan & Rachel Cohn's collaborative novels and The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour.

Source: http://elizziebooks.com/2013/07/15/a-really-awesome-mess-by-trish-cook-and-brendan-halpin-review

Currently reading

The Book Thief
Trudy White, Markus Zusak
VIcious
Victoria Schwab, V. E. Schwab
The Good Life
Trip Lee
Never Have I Ever
Sara Shepard
Being Sloane Jacobs
Lauren Morrill